See The Six Universities That Partners With Water Resources Ministry

Filed in Education News | By Emmanuel Worthwhile | Last Modified On June 7, 2015

The Federal Ministry of Water Resources has
entered into partnership with six universities in the country in order to reposition the water sector for effective service delivery.

The universities, which were chosen from
different geopolitical zones in the country,
are Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)
for South-west; Ahmadu Bello University
(ABU), Zaria for North-west; University of
Ilorin (UNILORIN) for North-central;
University of Calabar (UNICAL) for South-
south; Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK),
Awka, for South-east and University of
Maiduguri (UNIMAID), for North-east.

The partnership, it was revealed, would lead
to the establishment of capacity building
centres through academic programmes up
to Master’s degree level on Integrated Water
Resources Management, in addition to
other capacity building courses offered by
the participating Universities.

The project, which is being implemented by
the National Water Resource Institute
(NWRI), would foster the creation of water-
related jobs such as irrigation, aquaculture,
hydropower/dam, water supply and
sanitation that would enhance expertise in
water management in the country.

The programme’s capacity building network
would be to develop courses for the water
board and to raise human capacity
manpower to solve any problem in the
water sector.

Universities in Nigeria 2017 Admission Pattern | Check if you are Eligible

NGSchoolz Team

Emmanuel Worthwhile

Emmanuel Worthwhile is the founder and editor of NGSchoolz. He loves to share education news from various sources to keep readers informed. Learn more about him here and connect with him on Facebook and Google +

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *