NUC Issues Full Operational License To 9 Private Varsities

Filed in Education News | By Emmanuel Worthwhile | Last Modified On August 14, 2015

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has issued full Operational Licences to nine private universities in the country earlier granted provisional licensees in 2007, 2009 and 2011 respectively.


The universities are Caleb University, Lagos; Salem University, Lokoja; Veritas University, Abuja; Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti; Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja; Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu; Fountain University, Osogbo; Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State and Western Delta University, Oghara, Delta State.

Speaking at the presentation of the licences, the Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof. Julius OKojie, raised concern over high tuition fees charged by private universities.

He posited that granting full licences to recipients was informed by their performance and growth within the guidelines stipulated by the commission.

Okojie warned that NUC would not tolerate any breach in the conditions for the issuance of operational licences.

On the contrary, eleven private universities were given two-year extension on their provisional licence because they are yet to meet the basic criteria.

The NUC scribe stated that they have not done well in their accreditation and they are weak in their programmes.

Some of the universities that got two-year extension were Landmark University, Omu-Aran, Kwara State, Rhema University, Aba, Abia; Oduduwa University, Ile-ife and Baze University, Abuja.

Universities in Nigeria 2017 Admission Pattern | Check if you are Eligible

NGSchoolz Team


Emmanuel Worthwhile

Emmanuel Worthwhile is the founder and editor of NGSchoolz. He loves to share education news from various sources to keep readers informed. Learn more about him here and connect with him on Facebook and Google +

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *