Names Of 5 UNILAG Graduates Gets Tony Elumelu Foundation Awards

Filed in School News | By Emmanuel Worthwhile | Last Modified On June 7, 2015

The Tony Elumelu Foundation has awarded
five 2013/2014 academic session graduates
of the University of Lagos (UNILAG) with the
Tony and Awele Elumelu Academic Achievement Awards


The names of the graduates that receives the awards are:

ADEBAYO, Suliat Adenike
The Tony Elumelu Prize for Excellence in
Economics and Management for the Best
Graduating Student in Economics.

OMOTUNDE, Robert Adekunle
The Tony Elumelu Prize for Excellence in
Economics and Management for the Best
Graduating Masters in Economics Student.

EZEGWU, Olisa Kingsley
The Awele V. Elumelu Prize for Excellence in
Medicine for the Best Graduating Student in

ONUBOGU, Ifeanyichukwu
The Tony Elumelu Prize for Excellence for
the Best Graduating Masters in Business
Administration (MBA)Student.

The Elumelu Legacy Price for the Best
Overall Graduating Student.

Speaking at the Award Presentation
Ceremony held on Thursday, June 4, 2015
in the Senate Chambers, Senate House,
Main Campus, Akoka, the Vice-Chancellor of
the University, Professor Rahamon Bello,
expressed gratitude to the Tony Elumelu
Foundation for initiating and expanding the
Award Scheme which aims to inspire,
reward and encourage meritocracy among

Professor Bello called for further partnership with the Foundation, other well-meaning organisations and individuals in the area of endowments and donation to the University.

He noted that the support of public-spirited
individuals and organisations such as the
Foundation would boost efforts to move
UNILAG to the league of globally-acclaimed
tertiary institutions.

While delivering a brief speech, the Chief
Executive Officer of the Tony Elumelu
Foundation, Professor Reid Whitlock advised
the awardees and other Nigerian youths to
constantly aspire to be the best and not
constrain themselves due to challenges
such as lack of fund.

On behalf of all the awardees, the
2013/2014 Best Overall Graduating Student
of UNILAG with a Cumulative Grade Point
Average of 4.96, Akinpelumi, Korede F.
expressed profound appreciation to the
Foundation for the Awards.

He also thanked parents, staff and
Management of the University for providing
the enabling learning environment.
Akinpelumi promised that the 2013/2014
Elumelu Legacy Awardees would always
strive to be worthy ambassadors of UNILAG
and the Foundation.

Universities in Nigeria 2017 Admission Pattern | Check if you are Eligible

NGSchoolz Team

Emmanuel Worthwhile

Emmanuel Worthwhile is the founder and editor of NGSchoolz. He loves to share education news from various sources to keep readers informed. Learn more about him here and connect with him on Facebook and Google +

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *