2015/2016 Research Awards for SABMiller Royal Society Exchange Programme for UK and African Researchers

Filed in Education News | By Emmanuel Worthwhile | Last Modified On March 12, 2015

Applications are on-going for the 2015
Research Awards for SABMiller Royal Society
Exchange Programme. The SABMiller Royal
Society Exchange Programme will provide
awards of three years’ duration to enable
African scientists in sub-Saharan Africa to
partner with UK-based institutions.

Royal Society has received funding from
SABMiller plc to support a 5 year programme
to expand its capacity building activities in

As a result, the Royal Society has launched a
new scheme, the SABMiller Royal Society
Exchange Programme, aimed at supporting
collaborative research projects between
researchers in the UK and researchers in
sub-Saharan Africa. The programme will
focus on, but not be restricted to Ghana and

Scholarship Value
The award will cover the costs of travel and
subsistence up to £5,000 per year for
training purposes and funds up to £2,000
per year for research costs. The total value of
the award over 3 years is £21,000.

Selection Criteria:
The primary
considerations are listed below:

• The UK and African scientists have
strong research background which are
well suited to the project.

• The UK and African Scientists appears
well matched and complementary in their
research experience.

• Both host institutions are sufficiently
strong in the proposed area of research.

• The partnership offers a strong
opportunity for long-term research

• The quality of the research proposal is


The applicant must:

• have a PhD or equivalent research

• hold a permanent or fixed term contract
in an eligible university or research
institute which must span the duration of
the project

• Collaborations should be based on a
single project between “the applicant” (UK
based scientist) and “co-applicant” (African
based scientist).

• Applicants should ensure that they meet
all the eligibility requirements, which are
explained in the scheme notes.

Eligible Countries
Scientists from UK and Sub-Saharan Africa
(Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso,
Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central
African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo,
Congo (Democratic Republic), Ivory Coast,
Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia,
Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-
Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar,
Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius,
Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria,
Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal,
Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South
Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland,
Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and
Zimbabwe) can apply for this exchange
programme (The programme will focus on,
but not be restricted to Ghana and Tanzania)

Application Procedure and Deadline
Applications can only be submitted using