Apply Here For Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 Application

About Etisalat Price For Literature:
Etisalat prize for literature application is
ongoing. Etisalat is calling for entries for the
2015 Prize for Literature, the third edition
of the much celebrated innovative literature
prize launched in 2013.


Literature Prize Profile:
The Etisalat Prize for Literature is the first
ever pan-African prize celebrating first time
writers of published fiction books. The Prize
aims to serve as a platform for the discovery
of new creative talent out of the continent
and invariably promote the burgeoning
publishing industry in Africa.

By recognizing and celebrating writers and
other members of the literary community
across Africa, Etisalat plans to bring some
much needed awareness and acclaim to the
art of Fiction writing while also applauding
and rewarding the efforts of those who
have ventured into this genre in recent

At the core of Etisalat’s vision is promoting
passion, nurturing talent and providing a
platform for communicating ideas, The
‘Etisalat Prize for Literature’ wholly
embodies this vision, bringing together
celebrated high profile writers, book critics
and academics from across the Continent
and beyond in order to give credence and
honor to ‘home-grown’ talent while also
rewarding new entrants and encouraging
further participation in this area.

Etisalat Prize for Literature Structure:
The Etisalat Prize for Literature celebrates
new writers of African citizenship whose
first fiction book (over 30,000 words) was
published in the last twenty four (24)

For the purposes of this definition, first
book means first printed production in book
form of any type or genre. Authors and
their publishers can be based anywhere in
the world.

An online Flash Fiction Prize will be
launched later in the year driven entirely by
social media – more information on this will
be made available on our website.

The winner of the Etisalat Prize for
Literature receives £15,000, a Samsung
Galaxy Note and a Montblanc Meisterstuck.
In line with our vision of promoting
upcoming writers, Etisalat will sponsor a
book tour to three African cities.

The winning writer will also embark on the
Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East
Anglia mentored by Professor Giles Foden
(author of The Last King of Scotland) which
will include significant opportunities to
meet other writers, publishers and most
importantly work on their second book.

Shortlisted writers will win a Samsung
Galaxy Note and also go on a book tour to
two major African cities.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature is unique in
that it also aims to promote the publishing
industry at large and will therefore
purchase 1000 copies of all shortlisted
books which will be donated to various
schools, book clubs and libraries across the
African continent.

Criteria for Entry;
1. Submissions will only be accepted from
publishing houses.

2. All books entered must have a registered
ISBN number or equivalent.

3. Entries by new writers published within
the last 24 months before submission

4. Entries for fiction books will be submitted
by publishers who have published a
minimum of six (6) authors.

5. Publisher should have been a registered
business (with certificate of incorporation
as a publisher) for minimum of four years

6. Each publisher will be allowed to enter a
maximum of three (3) books – however
books maybe called in by the judges.

7. Each entry will be required to be
accompanied by Seven (7) copies of the
book being entered along with acceptance
of publicity terms.

8. The Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 is
not open to employees of any organisation
under Emirates Telecommunications
Corporation with branded trade name

How to Apply:
All applications for the prize competition
will be accepted via post only. Download
application form from –

The application form should be submitted
along with seven (7) copies of the submitted
books by May to the following address:
Etisalat Prize for Literature
Etisalat Nigeria
6th Floor
Building 2, Oriental Office Building
3, Lekki Road, Victoria Island

Call to Entry – 18th June 2015
Entry Deadline – 27th August 2015
Longlist announced – 12th November 2015
Shortlist announced – 12th December 2015
Grand Finale/Winner announced – 13th
March 2016

NGSchoolz Team

Leave a Reply